Approaching the Big 50!

This is the post excerpt.

Getting closer to the big 50! How did that happen? I’m sure I went to bed last night aged 30! I’m excited and scared at the same time, part of me can’t wait to be able to say things that only old people are able to get away with, but part of me is scared that this is the beginning of the end. I feel OK for my age, not one for the gym or much exercise, but thankfully I was blessed with a high metabolism, I managed to roughly stay the same size throughout my life and be fairly healthy.

I definitely will be in the camp of growing old disgracefully. I will embrace the wrinkles, everything that’s gone south, but my mind will be 30 forever! Well this is the aim! I wonder if our parents felt like this? They seem to have been born in a generation that made it easier to move into the next phase. With my generation, it feels like the lines are more blurred. We don’t fit the mould! And I for one am thankful for this.

So, what are we? Yummy mummies and glam ma’s who have raised our children, but still have more to give and are not ready for the blue rinse brigade just yet. In some ways, its feels like life is just beginning, I am finally at a point in life where I am old enough to have wisdom and knowledge from living, but still young enough to do things with that knowledge, and experience life with a whole new perspective.

So, it begins, get ready we are going on an adventure!

4 thoughts on “Approaching the Big 50!”

Leave a Reply

